Updated voting info as of 9-18-21:


It was the last day to drop out of the race. Withdrawn candidates as of Friday 5 p.m. were:

  • Ray Craft — Dalton Gardens City Council
  • Carrie Chase — Dalton Gardens City Council
  • Daniel Temple — Post Falls Mayor
  • Lori Wilson — Post Falls School District Zone 1 
  • Chrystal White — Post Falls School District Zone 4
  • Lyndon Harriman — Post Falls School District Zone 5
  • Megan Rounds — Post Falls School District Zone 5

These final withdrawals mean that some races — including those for Post Falls mayor and multiple Post Falls School District races — will be between just two candidates.

A total of 18 candidates dropped out of local races after filing.

A list of current candidates is posted at http://www.kcgov.us/31/ Elections.


The League of Women Voters of Kootenai County invites residents to register Tuesday, Sept. 28 — National Voters Registration Day.

Volunteers will be at the Coeur d’Alene, Hayden, and Post Falls libraries from 1 to 7 p.m. that day to help get Kootenai County signed up to participate in the November election.

The LWVKC is a nonpartisan organization that strives to promote political responsibility through informed and active participation in government.

“Voting in the Nov. 2 nonpartisan election is more important than ever as many are running for mayoral, city council, school board and fire district positions,” an LWVKC release said.

Voters must register by 5 p.m. Oct. 8 to participate in the election. Virtual registration is available at voteidaho.gov.

Same-day registration and voting are available on Election Day at your polling place. The LWVKC intends to boost local involvement through Vote411.org — a free, nonpartisan resource that includes candidate information and questionnaire responses.

Individuals running for office this fall can contact the LWVKC to participate in Vote411.org at LisaSchaff1@hotmail. com. The Press and LWVKC are partnering to collect candidate questionnaires and contact information ahead of the election. Candidates should contact Press reporter Madison Hardy for a candidate questionnaire and elections coverage. Email mhardy@cdapress.com or call 208-416-5109.


Four days of candidate forums are scheduled, starting Sept. 28. Because of the pandemic, the forums will be Zoom-only events, rather than live audience events.

City council candidates from Coeur d’Alene, Post Falls and Hayden will participate in the forums, as well as Coeur d’Alene School District trustee candidates.

The forums are a partnership by The Press and Coeur d’Alene Regional Chamber of Commerce to provide voters a personal introduction to each candidate.

Candidates will answer questions developed by Coeur d’Alene Press staff on important topics within the community. The Press will not provide the candidates with questions in advance.

“Hosting community forums is an incredibly important way to familiarize ourselves with the individuals who

will be potentially making critical decisions for our community,” Press Publisher Clint Schroeder said.

These are question and- answer forums, not debates. Candidates should answer questions directly and speak with facts about themselves and their platforms, not their opponents.

The forums are meant to give voters a chance to hear candidate perspectives about important local issues.

Recordings will be available in the “Meet the Candidates” section of http://www.cdapress.com the following day. Responses collected during the forums may also be used in the Press Voters Guide and daily election coverage.

Candidates should register through brenda@cdachamber.com or 208-415—0110.


Tuesday, Sept. 28

Coeur d’Alene City Council

— eight candidates, three races

Seat 2

  • Amy Evans,
  • Morgan Dixon,
  • Roger Garlock 

Seat 4

  • Grayson L. Cross
  •  JD Calridge
  • Woody McEvers 

Seat 6

  • Elaine Price
  • Kiki Miller

Wednesday, Sept. 29

Hayden and Post Falls City Council

— 14 candidates, five races

Hayden City Council

Seat 2

  • Ed DePriest
  • Nicole Barnett
  • Richard ‘Dick’ Panabaker

Seat 4

  •  Jeri DeLange
  • Sandy White

Post Falls City Council

Seat 2

  • Alan Wolfe
  • Josh Walker

Seat 4

  • Bob Flowers
  • Nathan L. Ziegler
  • Steve Anthony

Seat 6

  • Eric Klinkhammer
  • Kenny Shove
  • Linda Wilhelm
  • Tara Polley

Monday, Oct. 4

Coeur d’Alene and Post Falls Mayoral

— six candidates, two races

Coeur d’Alene Mayor

  • Jim Hammond
  • Joe Alfieri
  • Michael Lentz 

Post Falls Mayor

  •  Austin Hildebrand
  • Ronald G. Jacobson

Wednesday, Oct. 6

Coeur d’Alene School District #271 Board of Trustees

— six candidates, three races

Zone 1

  • Allie Anderton
  • Lisa May

Zone 4

  • Leslie Bjerke
  • Lindsey Swingrover 

Zone 5

  • Glen Campbell
  • Rebecca Smith

For more information on elections and polling, go to http://www.kcgov.us/31/Elections or call 208-446-1030.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter And Never Miss Another Update

Subscribe To Our Newsletter And Never Miss Another Update

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This